Hello, Chobblestone

I made it to Maple Canyon! The cobblestone rock here is unlike anything else I’ve ever climbed. It can be incredibly tricky to read–sometimes you wail on a sloper only to realize that there’s a jug six inches to the right.

Lauren on a 5.8 at the Orangutan Wall

I came to Maple to work on a climbing weakness–climbing on overhanging, or steep, rock. I am afraid of climbing on overhangs. This translates to poor climbing–I lose confidence, I overgrip, I make panic clips, and I use ineffective technique. I’ve been working on this weakness lately, first in Ten Sleep, and now here in Maple. I’m trying to get more milage on overhanging routes, and to be more relaxed while climbing them.

On Excavation, 5.11b, at the Pipe Dream.

I’m super stoked to be here, and to be attacking this climbing weakness head-on. It can be scary and nerve-wracking, but it’s ultimately rewarding.

Confidence in your belayer helps too. Thanks, Meg! :D

Credit where credit is due: the title of this post comes from Marshall and Karyn of Georgia, who call the rock at Maple chobblestone: choss + cobblestone = chobblestone. :)

One thought on “Hello, Chobblestone

Leave a Reply

