Dispatch #5: The Mountain West

Guys, I am finally out of the midwest. Woo-hoo! I woke up this morning to this:

View of a mountain from a rest stop in WY, between Laramie and Rawlins.

I think the wooden structure in the foreground is designed to shelter the rest stop from the winds. I saw them all along roads and fields while I was driving through Wyoming. As you might expect, it’s a good place to build a wind farm.

Wind turbines all along the ridge.

I was all ready to motor through WY to Ogden, UT, where I’m currently stopped for a bit. I pulled off at a rest stop on a whim, and I’m so glad I did! There was a whole colony of small mammals near the picnic area. So cute!

Anyone know what this little guy is? Let me know in the comments!

I popped off on an exit to snap this picture. Utah has much more interesting scenery than NE!

I should make it to Smith tomorrow night. My body is definitely protesting all the driving–my back and my right knee complain now if I drive for more than two hours straight at a time.  I have about 11.5 hours of driving time to go–the end is in sight!

2 thoughts on “Dispatch #5: The Mountain West

  1. The photographs are gorgeous.I feel like I’m standing next to you. The wind barriers are probably to protect the road from snow drifts.

Leave a Reply

