Dispatch #2: Hello from the Heartland

My truck cap is fixed! A Leer dealer in Elkhart, IN came in on his day off to install it for me, and Leer built it in their Indiana factory just yesterday. It’s amazing what you can accomplish on short notice when you don’t have a street address.

As far as I can tell, the majority of the midwest looks like this. Since my camera isn’t set up yet, I borrowed this picture from Flickr.

Once the cap was fixed, I spent a couple hours at Walmart cleaning out the last bits of glass, extracting stuff from the cab and popping it into the bed, and going grocery shopping. I arranged everything just so–then promptly re-ordered everything when I stopped to cook dinner at a rest stop just west of Chicago. I think it’s going to take me a while to figure out the optimum arrangement of everything in the bed. I’m finishing up a few things here at Starbucks (free internet!) in IL, then headed across the border to IA before I stop for the night.

Leave a Reply

